Justice Syed Mahmud Hossain to head EC search committee

Justice Syed Mahmud Hossain to head EC search committee
January 25 15:56 2017 Print This Article

Supreme Court Justice Syed Mahmud Hossain will head the six-member search committee to reconstitute the next Election Commission.

The cabinet division issued a gazette disclosing the names of the search committee members this evening.

Earlier in the day, President Abdul Hamid formed the six-member search committee after holding a series of talks with 31 registered political parties on formation of the next Election Commission.

A presidential letter enlisting the names of the members has been sent to the cabinet division, Joynal Abedin, press secretary to the president, told The Daily Star.

The five other members are High Court division Judge Obaidul Hassan, Bangladesh Public Service Commission Chairman Dr Muhammed Sadique, Comptroller and Auditor General (CAG) of Bangladesh Masud Ahmed, Dhaka University Professor Syed Manzoorul Islam, and Chittagong University Pro-Vice Chancellor Shireen Akhter.

view more articles

About Article Author

ABC News Reports
ABC News Reports

View More Articles